Roseneath 2015 CLASP Draw

The CLASP competition will start at 10.30am. CLASP Competitors should register at the registration tent on the games field and competitors will also recieve their number badge for the day. The platform information will be on display in the registration tent and will show the platforms numbered 1-6, name of which competition is on which platform and name of judges for each platform.
Continue reading

Communn Phìobaireachd Uibhist agus Bharraigh

Uist and Barra Piping Association

Highlands and Islands Young Piper of the Year Competition

Sgoil Lionacleit, Benbecula
Thursday 23 July 2015 from 9am
Competitions: aged 30 and under, under 18, under 15, novice piping, open chanter

Closing date for entries 15 July 2015
Contact for entry forms

Piper’s Prize Giving Ceilidh (with bar, tea, coffee, raffle)
Dark Island Hotel
7.30 PM

Westside Agricultural Show 2015 Solo Piping Competition

Held on the 31st July 2015 – Gates open at 12noon – Barvas Machair, Loch street, Isle of Lewis

Types of competition: Piobaireachd, MSR, Jig and Hornpipe for all U15, U18 & Open categories.
Novice piping, chanter sections are beginner, novice and open

To enter, please contact Ashley MacDonald: 07919101011 –

Open top prizes for 1st for Piobaireachd – £80, 2nd £60, 3rd £45, MSR 1st £50, 2nd £45, 3rd £30, Jig & Hornpipe 1st £50, 2nd £45, 3rd £30. Overall winners in U15, U18 and Open have an overall trophy. Chanter, novice piping U15 & U18 receive medals up to 3rd prize.
Situated on the Barvas Machair unspoilt landscape we have the Westside Cattle Show running for the 33rd year – with various stalls and competitions for Cattle, Sheep, veg and fruit, knitting, Arts & crafts to heavy and sport events with a display from Highland dancers and pipe band – we also have a car and tractor show of various classics to Tea & coffee with a treat to taste our local baking, we also have an all day BBQ!

Competitors free, Adults £5 and children £2

Argyll Piping Trust – Scots Guards Junior Piping Competition

Results of the competition held on Monday 22nd of June at the Games Park Oban.

Novice Piping

  1. John Macleod
  2. Sinclair Hennessy
  3. Erin Byers
  4. Ian MacPherson

Piping Under 15 March

  1. Ross Connor
  2. Piers Gritten
  3. Calum McKillop
  4. Jamie Campbell​

Under 15 Strathspey and Reel

  1. Jamie Campbell
  2. Ross Connor
  3. Calum McKillop
  4. Piers Gritten

Under 18 March

  1. Aaron Hussain
  2. Alistair MacLean
  3. Alexander Anderson
  4. Rebecca Paterson

Under 18 Strathspey and Reel

  1. Aaron Hussain
  2. Alistair Maclean
  3. Alexander Anderson
  4. Rebecca Paterson

Bruce Gandy wins Donald MacDonald Quaich 2015

Bruce Gandy - Donald MacDonald 2015
Bruce Gandy won the Donald MacDonald Quaich 2015, playing “Glengarry’s March”. The judge was Jack Taylor. Held on Friday 5th of June in the Clan Donald Centre, Armadale. The other pipers were Niall Stewart, Dougie Murray, Stuart liddell and Roddy MacLeod MBE.